The Founding Fathers of the American University of Beirut

​AUB's 125th anniversary celebrations in 1992 coincided with the beginnings of Lebanon's return to peace after sixteen years of civil war, throughout which AUB continued to function. This book is a special anniversary tribute to the founders of the university, originally the Syrian Protestant College, who laid the foundations on which the college could grow and develop into one of the leading institutions of higher education in the Middle East. The book documents seven of the original faculty: Daniel Bliss, the first president; David Stuart Dodge; Edwin R. Lewis; Harvey Porter; George E. Post; Cornelius Van Dyck; and John Wortabet. Sections in English and Arabic include speeches, official papers, letters, and articles – some contemporary, others more recent – that demonstrate the values and principles these founding fathers sought to put into practice.
Provider: AUB Press

 Compiler: Ghada Yusuf Khoury

 Language: English and Arabic
 Subject: Lebanon & AUB
 Publication Date: 1992
 Number of Pages: 447
 Book Dimensions: 17.8 x 24.9 cm
 Cover Type: Hard Cover
 Shipping Weight: 0.882 kg